The Oath of Louis Lasagna

I swear to fulfill, to the best of my ability and judgement, this covenant:
 
I will respect the hard-won scientific gain of those physicians in whose steps I walk, and gladly share such knowledge as is mine with those who are to follow.
 
I will apply for the benefit of the sick all measures which are required, avoiding those twin traps of overtreatment and therapeutic nihilism.
 
I will remmeber that there is art to medicine as well as science and that warmth, sympathy, and understanding may outweigh the surgeon’s knife or the chemist’s drug.
 
I will not be ashamed to say, " I know not," nor will I fail to call in my colleague when thte skills of another are needed for a patient’s recovery.
 
I will repect that privacy of my patients, for their problems are not disclosed to me that the world may know. Most especially must I tread with care in matters of life and death.
 
If it is given me to save a life, all thanks. But it may also be within my power to take a life: this awesome responsibility must be faced with great humbleness and awareness of my own frailty. Above all, I must not play at God.
 
I will remember that I do not treat a fever chart or a cancerous growth, but a sick human being, whose illness may affect both famiy and economic stability. My responsibility includes those related problems if I am to care adequately for the sick. I will prevent disease whenever I can, for prevention is preferable to cure.
 
I will remember that I remain a member of society, with special obligations to all, those sound of mind and body, as well as the infirm.
 
If I do not violate this oath, may I enjoy life and art, respected while I live and remembered with affection thereafter. May I always act so as to preserve the finest traditions of my calling and may I long experience the joy of healing those who seek my help.
 
 
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Oath of Louis Lasagna

  1. ShaNanYa says:

    ..B   how are you 怎麼樣 ..?
    every  ok   嗎…?
    現在在 Penang是吧 ..!
    保重喔 ..miss you…..

  2. 新菊 says:

    Bea  Bea Bea  您看到您的 spaces 一定會奇怪是吧…. !
    Bea 對不起…………………………………………………
    是我進來弄的, 我只是想給您放上 "後來" 這首歌…..
    弄的時候不小心 把您 spaces 顏色換掉…………….
    sorry    sorry     so    sorry
    我要找回原來您選的那個圖案  可是一直找不到
    真是很抱歉….  
    沒有先跟您說….就直接進來弄您私人的 spaces  真不好意思
         您會不會很生氣
    對不起喔  以後不敢了
    Bea 您換電話號碼喔……我剛剛給您打電話
    為了親口跟您說  可是一直都是有一個男人接電話…
    他一直講廣東話…我聽不懂     不知道怎麼了
     
     

  3. Sky says:

    Some time back I wanted to know what doctors are allowed to do in treating their patients and I found that they held within their hands the awesome power of life and death. If this power is not exercised in wisdom and humility much harm can come from it.  A recent research just basing on very conservative estimates had revealed the this simple truth.   There\’s much nobility in your profession just as there are much not to be proud of.  I remember once when I just graduated and volunteered myself in running a weekly  2.4 km run for the folks in kuantan. One day an elderly who used to have very good  time collapsed at the end of the course. A doctor who was also one of the regular participant managed to revive this man and my respect really went out to him and his profession. This was why I had so much faith in modern medicine. I had also read recently that when the cholesterol as the cause of heart attack first came out it was doctors on the ground who rebelled against the recommendation. The doctors who saw their patients daily knew that cholesterol was not the problem.  As time went the AHA(American Heart Association) managed to get it passed as truism through bogus committees that were paid by the pharmaceutical industiries.  It was also interesting to note that in the early days many doctors actually voted against the use of cholesterol lowering drugs but their positions were overturned because these doctors were only hired on an advisory role. Kudos Dr. Lau.  If you could keep this noble spirit alive as you progress through your career you will not only be a great doctor but more importantly a great person.

Leave a comment